What Auto Insurance Is Required in Washington?
Those who drive in the state must have $25,000 of insurance for bodily injury liability for one person and $50,000 per accident. You are also required to have $10,000 for property damage liability.
The choice to get Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is up to you but by law, the insurance company needs to offer it to you. If you don’t want this coverage, you must reject it in writing. If you don’t, then it is added to the policy. This policy can cover medical and hospital expenses, funeral expenses, wage loss, and loss of services.
Optional Auto Coverage in Washington
In addition to the minimums, there is also other optional coverage you can purchase through an agent at ASKE Insurance Advisors.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: Unfortunately, not everyone follows the law and carries auto insurance. If you get into an accident with one of these drivers, you may be out of luck unless you have uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage can also apply if you are hit by a driver who flees.
- Collision Coverage: This coverage will pay for accident-related damages. This covers accidents involving another car or a stationary object that hits your car.
- Comprehensive Coverage: This will cover damages from non-collision events. Some examples include a fire damaging your car, someone vandalizing your car, hitting a deer, or hail damaging your vehicle. Comprehensive coverage doesn’t cover everything, so you need to check your specific policy.
- Gap Coverage: This coverage fills in the gap from what you still owe the lender and the current market value of your vehicle. This coverage may only be available on new cars. If you are leasing, you may be required to have collision, comprehensive, and gap coverage.
- Rental Reimbursement: This coverage can be helpful after an accident. It plays for a rental car if you aren’t able to drive your car due to damage from a covered loss.
Contact ASKE Insurance Advisors to get a quote on auto insurance.